Sunday, April 22, 2012

Scavenger Hunt Assignment For School





Letters, Words and Sentences

Subject Matter: English

Grade Level: Sixth Grade

Lesson Objective: Learners will demonstrate writing fluency and comprehension by identifying and using the past perfect, present perfect and future perfect verb tenses


1.0  Written and Oral English Language Conventions


Grammar 
1.2  Identify and properly use indefinite pronouns and present perfect, past perfect, and 
future perfect verb tenses; ensure that verbs agree with compound subjects. 


Background: We will examine the uses and proper conjugations of the perfect verb tenses.  We will examine the conjugations and ensure that they agree with subject, time and place.


Use the following websites to help you answer questions in your scavenger hunt.
Essential Question:

Why are the perfect tenses so essential and when are they to be used? 



Questions:
  1. How does the present perfect tense relate to a specificity of time?
  2. How does one correctly use the verb "have" to differentiate past perfect from present perfect?
  3. What is the difference between simple future statements and future perfect statements?
  4. When does the root verb change when using the perfect tense?
  5. Why can't the future perfect tense be used with sentences beginning with expressions of time (e.g.: I am going to see a movie when I will have finished my homework)?


Saturday, March 3, 2012

Distance= Cancer And Other Simple Math Facts


February 14, 2012

Happy Valentine's Day! First random thought: I have been rather interested to find out why people are so pessimistic. We have so many reasons to believe that things will just work out. Yeah, there are things that don't turn out the way we want them to but we learn, grow, adjust and make the best of what we are given. This has been a sentiment on my mind quite often since I started dating a girl from another state. When I tell people that I'm in a long distance relationship it's almost like I'm saying “I have end stage cancer with 0 percent chance that I will live.” People look at me and say “Oh, I'm so sorry to hear that. I'm here for you if you need anything!” Okay, maybe not like that but I can't express how many times people have said “Good luck with that!” Even though they are not really wishing us any luck but actually expressing their feeling of inevitable doom for our relationship. I wouldn't necessarily tell everyone to have a long distance relationship because it is hard and it takes the right people with the right attitudes but they can work...and not to get too cocky but I'm pretty positive that this one is going to work since I plan on marrying this chick. SOOOO, just for kicks and giggles I googled "What percentage of long distance relationships work out?" The yahoo answer came back: 
0%
One, if not both parties get lonely and get tired of waiting. So they find the closest available, so they're not lonely anymore. The best thing, the other party won't know about it. The perfect scam. 
Eventually, they are caught, and it's over.”

Talk about pessimism. Holy cow! The whole relationship thing is not the only reason I worry about people's pessimism, in fact it's almost none of the reason. I just worry about people who automatically think that the worst will inevitably happen. Maybe optimism is a product of seeing stuff work out but I think that you “see stuff work out” through your perspective. It's seeing something not work out but then considering the other possibilities. There is a song called “Unanswered Prayers” by Garth Brooks. It's good ole Garth telling the story of running into his ex-girlfriend with his wife at a football game. Instead of explaining it maybe I'll just put the lyrics up. Just remember that with each failure there is usually something else up the Lord's proverbial sleeve.

Just the other night at a hometown football game
My wife and I ran into my old high school flame
And as I introduced them the past came back to me
And I couldn't help but think of the way things used to be

She was the one that I'd wanted for all times
And each night I'd spend prayin' that God would make her mine
And if he'd only grant me this wish I wished back then
I'd never ask for anything again

Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers
Remember when you're talkin' to the man upstairs
That just because he doesn't answer doesn't mean he don't care
Some of God's greatest gifts are unanswered prayers

She wasn't quite the angel that I remembered in my dreams
And I could tell that time had changed me
In her eyes too it seemed
We tried to talk about the old days
There wasn't much we could recall
I guess the Lord knows what he's doin' after all

And as she walked away and I looked at my wife
And then and there I thanked the good Lord
For the gifts in my life

Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers
Remember when you're talkin' to the man upstairs
That just because he may not answer doesn't mean he don't care
Some of God's greatest gifts are unanswered prayers

Some of God's greatest gifts are all too often unanswered...
Some of God's greatest gifts are unanswered prayers

What TO And NOT To Do When Your Underwear Melts

February 1, 2012

So, the other day I was sitting in a Sunday school class at church and one of the people in the class said “If you woke up today with only the things you expressed gratitude in prayer for yesterday, what would you have?” Even if that comment was not a “Sunday school patron” original, I thought that the sentiment was rather poignant. It made me think “Oh man, what did I express gratitude for yesterday?” It made me realize that I would only have my family, girlfriend, the gospel and my wonderful sense of style but that I would be starving, homeless, car-less, jobless, completely unhealthy and to add insult to injury, I would be naked. I think most people would consider that a bad day... I put that into perspective and devised a horrible scenario...and it follows:

Whilst I was aslumber the heater that I run at night to keep myself toasty warm shot a spark forward and ignited my hair gel (which I recently found out is made with butane, the same fluid used in cigarette lighters). The slow burning fire started on my bookshelf, instantly igniting my Twilight collection (even Eclipse!). By this point my bookshelf is completely ablaze and I'm still asleep; I can sleep through anything, which as my parents noted, when I was six years old I slept through a 6.1 earthquake, even when my dresser fell and knocked a lamp onto me. I digress. The fire then lights my entire wardrobe on fire in my closet; igniting my shirts, shoes, pants and, gasp, my skivvies! The fire wraps around my room and sets my guitars and amplifiers ablaze...I'll admit that when I was young this very thing was a dream of mine but I was hoping it to be on stage in front of thousands of fans. Yet again, I digress. The fire then climbs the bottom of my bed and sets my mattress mostly ablaze. By the point that the fire catches my pants on fire I begin to stir, still asleep though. My phone is the first to explode from the heat... I'm awake by this point, my phone could wake me from a dead sleep, we're of one flesh... yet again, digression. I jump out of bed and notice that my clothes are on fire, I quickly strip from my clothes and hop out my window. By some freak accident I see that the fire has spread through the rest of the house and reaches my car, the fire hits the gasline, sparks the gas tank and my car explodes in a fourth of July worthy spectacle. Here I am standing outside in the buff...but I'm warm! The house and car that are smouldering off ample heat. I then realize that I have to go to work, I've never missed a day of work if I could prevent it so I begin walking to work. As I walk in to the office I am immediately fired for showing up nude... a fire-worthy offense if you ask me. I then sit outside chutisimo (as they would say in Spanish) and wish that I had been grateful!

I guess that's scenario is okay if you're A) a nudist, B) a pyromaniac, C) a masochist or D) all of the above but it made me seriously consider what I am grateful for! I consider myself a rather optimistic person and I know that all of the things which I did not have were things that could be replaced and the only thing that really matters to me is the people in my life. However, I haven't just been blessed with wonderful people in my life, I have been given so many things above and beyond wonderful company. I should remember that. I lived in the poorest country in South America for a couple years. I saw poverty, I saw people who were starving to death, people who had lost all of their family to famine and people who lived without electricity much less hot water, hot food or nice clothes. I noticed one thing though that made me feel shameful, they gave thanks for every grain of rice they had. A popular thing for Bolivians to say in their prayers was “Gracias por el pan de cada dia” or “Thank you for the bread of every day.” This was a humble expression of gratitude for even having a loaf of bread to eat every day, that the Lord had provided at least that much. Even if it was more than some bread they were grateful. It makes me really wish that more Americans could see life in a third world country and put into perspective how amazing their lives are. It's sad to me that after only three years of not being there I had forgotten about true gratitude. Anyway, that's my rant on gratitude.

A Good Excuse To Pee Your Pants

January 28, 2012

Okay, so this may seem super random but I think that pregnant women need to stop explaining how far along they are in weeks. You better believe that when you say that you are 27 weeks along that I am going to first attempt to divide that by four, fail, get angry at math and then instinctively become livid at your baby. I don't mean to be but it just happens! Why can't you just tell me “I'm almost 7 months pregnant” or I am 6 months and three weeks pregnant... I know you know how many months that is! You have a human being living inside of you! It tenderizes your kidneys, keeps you awake at night, makes you puke, sits on your bladder and makes you pee yourself when you sneeze, etc. so, I know you're aware of EXACTLY how long it has been in you and when it will be leaving you. Don't try to sound sophisticated by explaining to those of us who aren't deathly afraid of sneezing how far along you are. Thank you and I am sorry (not really) for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Mala Prohibawhat?

January 20, 2012

Tonight at institute we spoke about the gospel and we were asked in what way it has most blessed our lives. (For those who may be unfamiliar with the terminology, the gospel refers to the teachings, church, scriptures, revelations, etc. of Jesus Christ) Most people mentioned that the greatest blessing for them has been having a direction, purpose and understanding in their life. It's scary not knowing where we should be headed or what we should be doing, how to react to certain situations, temptations, experiences, mishaps and trials or how to have an optimistic view of any of the aforementioned topics. I was rather amazed at how many talked about how they would most likely be in a different spot or their life would be far different; be less happy, make bad decisions and be searching for a clear understanding of what they should be doing in their lives. It's hard to understand what is right and wrong in this day. Thomas S. Monson, the prophet, said recently that less than fifty years ago the standards of society and the standards of the church were somewhat comparable; chastity and virtue were cherished, promiscuity was frowned upon, blatant use of drugs and otherwise unhealthy habits were looked down upon but recently the standard of society has been “Let everyone do whatever makes them happy. Who are we to decide what a person should and should not do?”

When I was in my mid-teens I started attending college classes at the local community college and I began my freshman and sophomore work on my degree. When my counselor asked me what I wanted to get my associates degree in, I was unsure. She asked me “Well, what interests you?” I reflected on all my many interests and thought that it'd probably be difficult to get a degree in guitars, cars or girls (though I probably could have taught a rather lengthy course on female studies)... so, I chose my other interest: CSI. Yep, Crime Scene Investigation... the TV show about using high tech procedures to solve crimes then wrap up every case with a horrible pun like “This goes to show all those bank robbers that crime does NOT pay!” I decided to get a degree in criminal justice, which I did... which coincidentally, I have never used for anything; that's what you get when you let a fifteen year old make grown up decisions. Anyway, the reason I tell that long drawn out story is that there are only a couple things I remember from the 2 years of course work in criminal justice and one of them is that there are two types of crimes: Mala en se and Mala prohibida.

They're fancy Latin words that my fifteen year old mind thought sounded cool so I committed them to memory, I'm so proud of the thousands of dollars my parents spent on my education. Mala en se is a crime that is just wrong in itself, in fact mala is the Latin for bad and se is the Latin word for self, thus bad in self. These are crimes that are just inherently wrong. Murder is almost universally accepted as wrong in itself. Rape is usually considered wrong no matter what and so forth. There are them crimes that are considered Mala Prohibida which means that the crime is wrong only because the law says so. For example, Marijuana is widely accepted and is not considered bad in many societies. The smoking of it in the US is considered bad only because the law prohibits it.

The interesting thing about Mala Prohibida laws is that they are based completely on the society that accepts them. What might have been considered wrong 50 years ago could be widely accepted as normal behavior today. You see how I did a full circle back to my original point? I'm glad you hung in for the ride! Honestly, it scares me to think of the world that my little sister and my children are/will grow up in. Sex is something that used to be revered and respected. It was possibly even considered sacred by society. Sex now is like a foodstamp being handed out to anyone. I have a good friend whose new year resolution for himself was to sleep with 2 different girls every month for the entire year. It broke my heart when he said that. He's a great guy but that is the culture we live in now. That is now the norm.

The gospel is a beacon to me. Honestly, were it not for the gospel I might make those same mistakes. It offers direction and guidance to me as I walk through a world with crumbling values and disintegrating standards. This doesn't just apply to temptation but also applies to trials and calamities that come to pass in one's life. It can be difficult to see bad things happen to good people and see wicked men triumph while good men suffer. The gospel offers peace and understanding in the face of disparity and heartbreak.

I don't write this as a person who says “Look how much more blessed I am that everyone else!” I write this with a gratitude for what I have been taught and where it has led me. I wish everyone could have the sense of direction that I've felt and I wish that people could feel confidence in the face of tribulations. There are many bad things that happen in this world and without understanding one could feel hopeless. There is hope though. The word gospel literally means “Good News” and I believe that that is true!

Absence Makes The Heart Grow Fonder, Right?

Soooooo, I have not POSTED a blog in over a month. I did all caps on POSTED because that does not mean that I haven't WRITTEN a post in over a month. Although, it would be prudent now to mention that that goal I had of writing a blog every day this year has not only failed but has been beaten and stuffed into a coffin. There is no way that I will recover, haha. However, the important thing to know is that my goal keep a blog of random thoughts has not died. I will post in succession some of the random things I've written; both on napkins and other physical and electronic means. Therefore, enjoy the next bits of random stuff.

Friday, January 13, 2012

Typing 101

January 13, 2012

Yes, i missed yesterday's blog! Get over it! I'm submitting this from Utah so it may look like its being submitted late but it's still 11pm in California! Haha!

So, I was having a conversation with my girlfriend the other day and for some reason we started talking about what each other's type was...y'know, what kind of person we found ourselves attracted to. Now, this is a very risky path to walk and a shallow pool to tread in... no pun intended! If you're talking to your girlfriend about what type of girl you're attracted to and your girlfriend happens to be 5'4, 125 pounds, blonde hair, blue eyes and has a freckle on her cheek you better say "my type is a girl who is about 5'4, 125 pounds, blonde hair, blue eyes and has a freckle on her cheek...that freckle is essential to my attraction to a girl!"

Luckily I didn't have to lie to her! ...plus she'll read this so I wouldn't say I'd lied if i had! However, it made me think about people's types. I wondered what my friends looked for in a potential crush (or more).

So, I polled about twenty of my random friends, both dudes and chicks from one spectrum of the late teens to early thirties. I got a ton of different responses ranging from "Taylor Swift! If she's not her then she better be a darn good doppelgänger or equally attractive cousin!" to "I just want someone who makes me laugh and is a good person." I found that most of my friends fell somewhere in the middle. I'll be honest, I was a little surprised that my friends weren't that shallow. I'll summarize and generalize what they said:

Dude Recon
Most dudes don't want a super skinny chick. She has to have some substance to her or as one dude said: "I'm not laying my head on a chick who is as bony as the grim reaper!"
Most dudes prefer a girl who is physically active
Hair color doesn't matter really
All dudes said that a sense of humor is important
Most dudes said the girl had to be shorter than him

Chick-con
Dude>Chick ...for my mathematically challenged friends that is not a chick-alligator eating a dude, that's a greater than sign. It implies that the dude must be taller.
Dude can't be slimmer than the chick but can't be monstrous either. Chicks like to feel safe
Dude must have a job
Hair/eye color don't matter
Chicks like a dude with some muscle but yet again not monstrous!
All chicks said a sense of humor is important

These are generalities of course but those were the consensus opinions. Kinda cool! Well, that's the end of my random thoughts for today!

The Water Department In The Swamp

January 12, 2012

Yeah, I totally forgot to write a post yesterday... Meh, you'll get over it. I'll keep this one short; I don't want to spend too much time tonight. Here's a little story I thought I'd jot down.

A week or two ago I was driving down the road, and I saw the city water department building. A building like that would normally have gone completely unnoticed to me but it brought back a simple memory. Every month when I was on my mission as a zone leader I would have to go pay the water bills for the missionaries that made up my zone. I remembered that the building was in a dirty, muddy part of town and my companion and I, either Elder Bricenho or Elder Huarca, would tread through the muddy swamp to get there, accomplish whatever our business was and then walk back to wherever we needed to go. That memory seems so insignificant but it affected me. It reminded me of what it felt like to be on a mission. I was suddenly struck with gratitude and I offered an open-eyed prayer as I drove past that water department in Victorville. I was so blessed for the opportunity to serve the Lord, going to another corner of the earth to share what I simply had felt and been blessed with. It was an experience that I will never forget. It was there in the jungles, deserts and swamps of Bolivia, that I learned a little better how to be a man. More importantly, it was there that I learned so much better how to be a man of God. I loved those people dearly, my heart ached for them and I think about them constantly. I believe that almost every missionary leaves their mission knowing they could have done more... they could have had more energy, talked to more people, tried harder, prayed harder, lived slightly better, etc. I certainly felt that and to be honest, it bothered me greatly until just recently. I had remembered so often those occasions when I didn't give EVERYTHING I had to give. As I prayed I told the Lord my feelings of regret and the feeling was almost instantaneous when I felt the Lord speak to my soul and tell me it was okay, that he was proud of me. I don’t remember whether I teared up or not but I do know that I felt the spirit completely soothe me.

That was rather personal. Don't know why I felt to share it with the whole world but perhaps someone will take something from that that will benefit them.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I Just G-G-G-Got Deep On Y'all!

January 10, 2012


When I was 18 I bought a CD at a music shop and I had no idea who the band was. The CD was 5 bucks and I thought "Why the heck not? Let's be spontaneous and try a band I've never heard of!" So, I bought the CD and threw it in my CD player. The band was called Thrice and the CD was in poor quality but played fine. The CD was decent but nothing really stood out until the title track called "The Artist In The Ambulance" came on. I began listening to the lyrics and instantly I was hooked on an idea: that sometimes we are given second chances and sometimes we need a rude awakening to help us become the people we need to be. Here are the lyrics...


THE ARTIST IN THE AMBULANCE
Late night, brakes lock, hear the tires squeal
Red light, can't stop so I spin the wheel
My world goes black before I feel an angel lift me up
And I open bloodshot eyes
into fluorescent white
They flip the siren, hit the lights, close the doors and I am gone


Now I lay here owing my life to a stranger
And I realize that empty words are not enough
I'm left here with the question of 
just what have I to show except 
the promises I never kept?
I lie here shaking on this bed, 
under the weight of my regrets
I hope that I will never let you down
I know that this can be more than just flashing lights and sound


Look around and you'll see that at times it feels like no one really cares
It gets me down but I'm still gonna try to do what's right, I know that there's
A difference between sleight of hand, 
and giving everything you have
There's a line drawn in the sand, i'm working up the will to cross it


Rhetoric can't raise the dead
I'm sick of always talking when there's no change
I'm sick of empty words, let's lead and not follow


Late night, brakes lock, hear the tires squeal
Red light, can't stop so I spin the wheel
My world goes black before I feel an angel steal me from the
Greedy jaws of death and chance, 
and pull me in with steady hands
They've given me a second chance, the artist in the ambulance
Can we pick you off the ground, 
more than flashing lights and sound


Here's the song...


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Ton0a230_s


The lyrics just kinda struck me that if I were suddenly put face to face with death would I be ready to go? ...would I have lived the life I knew I should have? Will I "lie here shaking on this bed under the weight of my regrets" or say "what do I have to show except the promises I never kept?" I like the idea that we most likely will not die tomorrow but we can live better today.


Another song that contrasts this theme is a song by my favorite band, Bayside, called You've Already Been. This song illustrates a man who is going down on a crashing plane and contemplates his life and times and wonders if he'll end up in Heaven or Hell. The plane doesn't crash and he doesn't change but g-g-g-goes back to his selfish ways. Then later in life he is taken back to that moment when the plane is crashing but he hasn't changed even though he had the chance but this time he's not so lucky. In spite of his constant self-reassurance that he is in command it doesn't save him. The lyrics...


YOU'VE ALREADY BEEN
Let's say, that you're on a plane
It's going down fast
And you had time to think about
Your life and times
And where you'll end up


They say there's a place
You worry what it might be like
And you scream 'cause you're scared


What if I swore to God?
Would you believe me then?
Isn't there something to be said about
Brand name recognition


Let's say, your plane didn't crash
And you should survive
Would g-g-go back to your selfish ways
And deny this was divine?


They say there's a place
You worry what it might be like
And scream 'cause you're scared


What if I swore to God?
Would you believe me then?
Isn't there something to be said about
Brand name recognition


What can I say?
We ate the apple anyway
And you'll wonder when you'll get there
When you've already been


Well let's say that this happens again
This time you were rotated back
Believe what ever's right for you
Don't doubt your worth
Stay in command


What if I swore to God?
Would you believe me then?
Isn't there something to be said about
Brand name recognition


What can I say?
We ate the apple anyway
And you'll wonder when you'll get there
When you've already been
When you've already been


Here's the song...


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wRQFD1q7vY


Something to think about.

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

You Know You Laughed...Don't Deny It!

January 9, 2012

Today I really will be short! You just watch!

I read a book by Helen Keller today. It was a fantastic read! It was called “Around the House in 80 days.” You should look it up! Never mind that book Around the World in 80 days! This is better!

...end transmission...

I Bet Willy Wonka Was A Mormon...

January 8, 2012

Okay, so I failed yet again to keep my previous blog short and sweet. Today I will do my best to keep it bearable in length.

Since today is Sunday I thought I would share a little insight about religion...and Willy Wonka!

One of my favorite movies ever is called Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, made in 1971... not to be confused with the abomination that is “Johnny Wonka” made in two thousand something. Long story short; Willy Wonka owns a chocolate factory. He promises a life time supply of chocolate to 5 lucky kids as they tour his factory. Crazy stuff happens and in the end the only one of the 5 kids that is left alive/not a blueberry is Charlie Bucket, a humble kid. After passing a test Willy Wonka says that he is going to give his chocolate factory to Charlie to run. Charlie's grandfather says “But he's only a boy!” to which Willy responds “Exactly! I had to choose a child because a child will do exactly as I say and run the factory how I specify. If I give it to an adult they will try to run it their own way and change things. It has to be a child!”

Mormonism is an interesting thing, it's a beast all its own. A catholic priest once said (and I paraphrase): “Well, as Christianity goes, it's either the Catholics or the Mormons that are right. Every single christian denomination is an offshoot of Catholicism as they protested and started their new churches except the Mormons. Either they're right or we are.” What he was referring to is the fact that the Mormon church is not a protestant sect of Christianity, implying that the Catholic church can supposedly trace its origins back to the original apostles and any church that comes afterward is just an offshoot of that church by authority. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, however, was restored. That means that Jesus Christ started his true church while he was here on earth with apostles, prophets, teachers, etc. and eventually that church was destroyed. People killed Christ, killed the apostles (Peter was crucified upside down, Paul was beheaded, some were stoned and so forth), and with the death of those priesthood leaders the church was lost in a time called apostasy. Almost two millenia after the original church fell in to apostasy God RESTORED that church again. Restored is a good word because it implies that the church was taken (after the authority was lost) and then put back exactly how it was before. God called a prophet, 12 apostles and started the same exact church again. That prophet's name was Joseph Smith. We do not worship him, we do not pray to him and we do not look to anyone but Jesus Christ for salvation. He was a prophet and coincidentally he was also 14 when he was first called to be a prophet

Today at church, one of the presiding leaders in our ward said “I know a lot of 14 years olds and I would not entrust a work so great into the hands of a 14 year old.” I completely understand his sentiment... I remember when I was 14 and I'm surprised I'm still alive today! However, that age is extremely important in considering why God would call a boy to restore his church.

Here's where Willy Wonka comes into play! People wonder why God chose a 14 year old boy and that is exactly why. God needed to restore his church on the earth and he needed it done precisely as he wanted it. God called a young prophet and gave him specifications on how to restore the gospel. An adult might have gotten a big ego or tried to run it his way...possibly to gain wealth like so many religious organizations are erected for. God chose a boy and instructed him step-by-step and that church and gospel were RESTORED. Not differently than when Jesus Christ did it but exactly how he had originally established it.

I failed again at being short and simple. Sorry... I hope this makes sense but if not please comment and let me know!


27 Neck-Ties

January 7, 2012

Man, I am not keeping up on my promise that my blogs would be shorter! I will do better and start being short and to the point.

So, I've been a groomsman or a best-man in like 15 weddings, no joke! Have you ever seen the movie about the chick who was a bridemaid or maid of honor in 27 different weddings but can never get married herself called “27 Dresses”? Well, as I lay here in bed I look into my closet where I have all of my ties hanging and I am seriously thinking about writing and starring in a movie called “27 Neck-ties” for all of the ties I have from being in wedding parties.

Now, I'm not complaining, it has been awesome being a partaker of such delicious rehearsal dinners/dinners/reception food on so many different occasions... but seriously that is a lot of stinkin' ties! It kinda made me hate love! You never feel more “I'm sitting her all alone as people are in love all around me so I'm going to be more bitter than a spoonful of salt” (yes, that is an emotion) than when you are at a friend's wedding and they are disgustingly cute together. Haha!

Now I should probably shift the focus of this blog and be more positive, so, what this blog is really about is the cool stuff! The cool thing about so many ties is that each has a story and I've accompanied friends of mine that have been so disgustingly, hopelessly, gag-reflex-inducingly in love and it makes me happy. As I type this my married roommates are in the living room and he is playing the accordion and singing a song from The Lady and the Tramp to his lovely bride... I know! I threw up a little in my mouth too! However, I've known both of them for a while and I love them and I am soooooooo happy for them!

Normally I would hate anything to do with love, mushy stuff or imagining my roommates sitting in the living room looking rather puppyish as they share a plate of spaghetti and they accidentally slurp a noodle that leaves them kissing but for one of the few times in my life I am not single and I'm extremely happy about that fact. This isn't going to be one of those blogs with me being mushy or anything but I just have to say that my girlfriend is kafreakin' awesome! Seriously, that chick is cool and she's not bad on the eyes either...and that's kinda cool for me. I'm sure I'll write a blog about her sometime but it'll have to wait. Anyway, so, for now I'm not feeling lonely... even though she lives in a different solar system.

Those ties aren't mocking me like they usually do... but if they start mocking me again so help me I will use them to test the acidity of my bath-water then laugh as the clown loses again! (If you do not understand that joke then please read the previous blog)

HCTMHWAAGTSMUATMTTNWIWBETRITMOTLMFFTTA...It's a thing!

January 6, 2012

(I wrote a few blogs but never posted them, so here they are for your reading pleasure)

So, recently I was sitting in my living room with some close friends of mine... which seems to be a daily ritual! No joke, there are at any given time about 10 people who do not live here who practically live here and sometimes that can be a problem. Often I will arise to go to work anywhere between 4am and 10am and there will be random people in the living room. I usually think nothing of seeing random people in my living room because they are 9 times out of 10 a friend of one of my roomies. One time I entered our living room around 6am and there was a very skinny kid, dressed in a warped tour t-shirt that smelled strongly of mothballs, embalming fluid and catnip... don't ask me why I know what the combination of said aromas smells like, I don't really care to talk about the summer I spent working at a funeral home. Anyway, I didn't think anything of it and went to work. When I came back he was gone and I felt it appropriate to ask my roomies about which one of them was his acquaintance. I spoke to them in sequential order, descending in age from oldest to youngest and none of them knew who he was. Nothing had been stolen but I washed the couch cover...twice good measure.

Anyway, the previous story holds no bearing to what I was planning on talking about. So, anyway, my friends and I were talking and one of them asked what our most irrational fears are. Now, you need to understand that I have a ridiculously large list of irrational fears. Like, I don't mean somewhat rational fears, I'm talking ridiculous stuff. So, I thought I would share some of my irrationally rational fears and some that are, as a few dear friends of mine would say, RIDIC!


First of all, I am terrified of the flying monkeys from The Wizard of Oz. Charisdnatphobia is the fear of monkeys and aviophobia is the fear of flying...combine those two together and you have charisdnaviophobia but I will settle for just calling it “Holy-crap-those-monkeys-have-wings-and-are-going-to-snatch-me-up-and-take-me-to-their-nest-where-I-will-be-eaten-then-regurgitated-into-the-mouths-of-their-little-mini-flying-freaky-things-too-aphobia” or in the clinical world: HCTMHWAAGTSMUATMTTNWIWBETRITMOTLMFFTTA for short (pronounced phonetically)

I'm also afraid of Bob Barker. Ever since I was little my family watched The Price Is Right religiously and the host scared me living daylights of me. His skin is orange! Like not a weird looking tan but the dude is freakin' orange. He looks like a full-sized Oompa Loompa!


I fear wearing a tie that is too tight. Apart from feeling like I'm walking around being strangled by a very weak person, I'm afraid that it will some how restrict the blood-flow of the arteries in my neck or restrict my breathing...wearing a backpack while wearing a tie is like having a very weak midget on my back strangling me... needless to say, serving as a missionary was an interesting endeavor for me
(thanks to Mitch Hedburg for the comedic thievery I just committed)


Also, I'm afraid of clowns...now I can hear you critics already: “But Caleb, a fear of clowns is very common and mildly rational.” No, you don't get it! I'm afraid that a clown has done something especially menacing, such as: putting a nail sticking straight up in my pillow, exchanging my bathwater with acid or turning the gas on in my stove without lighting it. So, suck on that you naysaying dissenters! That ain't normal and I know it! I'll admit this is a fear that has gone away but when I was younger I would throw a toy into my bath water to see if it'd melt or I'd make my brother sit on my pillow just in case there was a nail...and then when nothing happened I would laugh heartily just in case that little bugger was watching me as I foiled his plans.

Well, there ya go. My completely irrational fears!

P.S.: Don't forget to put on your tin-foil helmets so that the government can't read your mind!

Friday, January 6, 2012

Caleb and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Date

January 5, 2012

Recently I started talking to some chicks about the worst dates they had ever been on and I'll be honest; I LOVED HEARING THEM! It's been a while since I laughed that hard! I talked to girls from all walks of life and got some amazing stories. The stories ranged from awkward to me being straight up ashamed of my Y-chromosome sharing brethren. I want to list a couple just so that everyone can bask in the glory! So, here they are!
*Note: All of these stories come from places other than the high desert. I got some good worst dates out of the locals too but will not add them.

"He had me drive over to his place and he asked what I was going to make him for dinner."

"We watched the sunset on a video game (World of Warcraft)!"

"He took me as a date to his ex-girlfriend's wedding. As we walked into the reception he told me look really interested in him."

"As we drove to go see a movie he pulled over on the side of the road to pee. He did everything in view (with his back turned at least)!"

"He decided to teach me how to box (the sport) and ended up punching me so hard that it hurt to close my jaw all the way."

"We got done with dinner and he asked if we had been on the date long enough that we could make out yet."

"We watched The Exorcist."

"He was holding my hand as we took a walk (on our first date) and he abruptly said 'Recently a girl I liked a couple months ago began texting me and I don't know whether I want her or you.'"

"We went to a restaurant and he ordered for me...not the cute 'The lady will have the halibut' after asking me. No, he told the waiter what I was going to have then told me he didn't want to spend too much money on the date so he thought he'd order cheap."

“He took me out into the middle of the woods, gave me a machete and said that we were going zombie hunting... it might have been humorous but he was serious. He said he wanted to prepare me for when the real zombie apocalypse hit.”

Now, these are all extreme cases and I really would hope that most dudes wouldn't do something dumb like the aforementioned cases. Sometimes I marvel at dudes and their total obliviousness when it comes to chicks and how they'd like to be treated. I have had my fair share of bad dates but for the most part I don't think that they're dates that warrant a restraining order...although as I spoke with the chicks about their worst dates I was pretty sure I had been the culprit of a few of them...

The words hell, cleaning the bathroom, pickles and my grandmother's wig all bring back fonder memories to me than my worst date. I have sought and received the permission of the chick with whom I went on this date to retell it. The funny thing is that this chick and I were way good friends afterward and we went on other dates that were actually great. With that in mind, here we go!

My terrible, horrible, no good, very bad date happened when I had just turned 18. I met a girl at a party in a city where I had just recently moved to. I didn't know very many people and this gave me an opportunity to start over and make a new image for myself. I started off by telling her some garbage about myself that was probably mildly true but far overblown. She seemed very interested and we really hit it off. By some miraculous aligning of the cosmos, and possibly the intervention of the the creator of the universes himself, I got her number and we parted ways without me making too much of a fool of myself. Do you ever just go through a situation marveling at how well you're doing and you just keep telling yourself “don't screw up, don't screw up... smile... say something witty... okay, you're probably not going to keep up this luck, stop now...”? That was it. A couple days later I called her... I probably would have called her far sooner but my mom, knowing I was apt to screw something up, hid the girl's number until my mom thought it had been enough time... I feigned some semblance of confidence and said “Hey, we met at the party the other day...blah, blah, blah... look, I was...umm... wondering if...uhh...I mean...if you wanted to go do something with me on Saturday.” To my utter shock and dismay she said that she would. I finalized the plans and said “So, are your parents cool with it just being the two of us (sometimes Mormon parents are a little weird with their daughters going on single dates the second they turn 18)?” She said that they'd be perfectly fine with it. I had a little coaching session in my head on how to end the conversation with ruining my life for the rest of eternity and I hung up with my pride intact.

The day of the date came and I woke up bright and early to vacuum and clean my car. It was probably 7 am and I was at the car wash dressed from head to toe in my pajamas (which included a hooded sweatshirt that I had placed over my head). At the time I had a 1994 Hyundai Excel that had a hatchback trunk that rose to about 6 feet 2 inches off the ground, about an inch shorter than me. This car was a little, tiny, green car that was so small I had to drive with my head cocked slightly because I was too tall. I cleaned my car and continued vacuuming in my early morning daze when I turned around too quickly and the edge of the trunk not only cut my head but gouged a small piece of flesh out. The blood began to pour immediately and I realized that I was the proud new owner of a gaping head wound. So, as any normal person with a head wound would do, I decided to get behind the wheel of a car and drive home... Calling on my mounds of intelligence I just sped up and as I did so a cop pulled me over. Brilliant. I took the ticket and continued driving home... great idea until about 2 minutes from home I started getting lightheaded and my vision started going white.

Luckily I got home, pulled in to my driveway (parking slanted and blocking all other cars at my house). I walked inside and said “Mom! I think I might have hurt myself!” By this point the blood is all along my face, down my neck and soaking my t-shirt. My mom being the quick-witted and calm person that she is only says “You might have.” She directs me to sit down and she'd take a look at it. Upon careful examination she determined, and rightfully so, that I needed stitches but being the consummate romantic that I am yelled at her “NO! I HAVE A DATE!” She argued with me for a bit and I told her to just put a butterfly bandage on it. She relented and went to gather her tools. I sat calmly placing pressure with a towel on the wound and she returned, asking me to remove the towel so she could fix it. Before I even heard the buzz, a strip of hair was missing, she had shaved a line (A LINE!) down my head along the cut. I freaked out in some language that I'm sure made her think her son was possessed by some unearthly demon and she yelled back some nonsense about butterfly bandages not being able to stick to hair...whatever. Long story short; she got the bandage on and I was on my merry way to my date with a considerable amount of blood-loss, a strip of hair missing, a bright white bandage, a case of delirium and a partridge in a pear tree.

My date calls me on my way to pick her up and she explains that something minor came up and that she would just meet me at the intended destination for our date instead of me picking her up, no problem. I arrive at the date locale about 20 minutes early and get things ready... I still thought I looked okay with an anti-mohawk (of course, I also thought I looked good wearing shirts that were 2 sizes too small). After completing the preparations, I sat down and waited for my date.

30 minutes passes. An hour. Two hours and finally she pulls up. I was so excited for the date that I didn't even care that she was so late and didn't even call. I see her car door open and she stands up. Beautiful, long brown hair, gorgeous blue eyes and a wonderful smile... this is why I was totally cool with a massive head-wound. Then the back doors open and 3 of her girlfriends step out.

Now, in my teens I had a mouth that would put a sailor to shame but by this point I had luckily sworn off swearing altogether or else I would have probably grumbled something profane and ill-befitting of an upstanding young man. She mentioned some crap like “Oh, I hope you don't mind that I brought a few friends.” Yet again, it's good that I chewed orbit gum that day because heck yes I minded! And to add insult to injury they were all about as smart as a box of rocks... add some glitter to those rocks and they might have been as pretty too.

For some reason I thought that maybe if I treated her friends exceptionally well that she would like me a lot more too. So, I paid for all her friends and I just told myself “Look at me! I'm a real Mormon now! I'm on a date with 4 girls!*” It wasn't entirely fun but I just bore with it for hopes that the chick might like me. We then went to dinner, yet again I paid. Then she told me she had to go do something real quick and excused herself.
*The LDS church does not condone, practice or encourage polygamy in any way. Just thought I'd clear that up)

Now when someone says real quick you may expect that that person will be back in a minute or two but you'll allow up to five minutes for the benefit of the doubt. Nope, 37.5 minutes later (I TIMED IT) she returns. She said something about how she had to run an errand... SHE WENT GROCERY SHOPPING and left me at the table with her 3 friends that made the 3 stooges look like Harvard graduates...but I endured. I think I realized that it was going nowhere when she said “Well, Kevin, I've had a nice time but I better get going.” She gave me an “I-don't-really-care-for-you-so-I'll-give-you-a-side-hug-with-zero-feeling” hug as she texted someone on her phone.

The Charlie Brown Christmas theme played as I walked to my car with my hands swaying lifelessly at my side and my head hanging low. It was then that I realized I had cleaned the blood off the front of me but in my anemic state had forgotten to clean some of the blood in other spots such as my neck, ears and back of my hair.

It's a good thing I had sworn off swearing...

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Achievement Unlocked- Live Past 23

January 4th,2012

I'm not much a video gamer...I never really have been. I played a little bit when I was younger but totally stopped in my teens and twenties. Recently though, I started playing a couple games here and there and I've discovered something called achievements. They are little goals/accomplishments that you achieve during a game such as "Complete a level in under 12 seconds" or "Complete the entire game on hard" or "Dislocate your knee while trying to impress your friends in Dance, Dance Revolution!" A little window pops up and it tells you that you achieved something. These are accomplishments that range from easy to impossible things and based on the difficulty you receive a certain number of points. Falling to your death could be 5 points while beating every single level of a game might be 20 points. They give you a sense of purpose during boring points in the game or maybe it requires you to do a little more than the minimum amount of work to achieve something. Either way, they're fun! So, I thought: what if life was like that?! What if it had achievements?! Something more than just your average goals...though I don't know how much pleasure I would take in completing life in 12 seconds or purposefully playing through life on the hard difficulty, I'm sure there are people! I actually did dislocate my knee while playing a dancing game... I would take an achievement for that...and I better get a lot more than 5 points if I fall to my death!

So, today I started setting some goals/achievements for my life; some call 'em a bucket list, some just call them goals...either way they're achievements! The list is not comprehensive, just stuff I thought of while I was driving today. So, without further ado, here is my list.

Write and record a full album of songs with me doing all instruments and singing…even if no one hears it or likes it! -10points

Sky-dive over Hawaii -10 points

Build a house with my own hands that I can one day leave to those I love -15points

Be a gladiator in Rome for a day (They totally still do it!) -5points

Go to Jerusalem and pray in the garden of Gethsemane -5points

Serve another mission -20points

Study the Old Testament from Genesis to Malachi -5points

Get one of my novels published -5points

Donate an organ to someone who really needs it (I’m working on being more charitable and I thought this might help me put a little heart into it) -20 points minus 5 points for the bad pun



Learn to play the violin- 5 points

Run a 5 minute mile in a marathon -5points

Stop a crime from happening -10points

Have a career where I’ll be sad when I retire -30points

Get my pilots license, fly to Vegas for lunch and fly back before I have to be at work…all in one day -10points

Adopt a child from a foreign country -25points

Tour Europe and speak without a translator in each country I visit -20points

Be a good enough teacher that the kids remember me and what I’ve taught -25points

Do a stand-up comedy routine for people I’ve never met and actually make them laugh -5points

Write, direct, film and star in an indie film and submit it to film festivals -10points

Have my wife and kids never doubt that I love them and would die for them -50points

Visit all 7 continents -30points

Go vegetarian for a month -5points

Dress up as a bum, go around asking people if they have a dollar and if they say they don’t then I will give them a dollar -5points

Visit all of the 7 new wonders of the world -5points

Be the cool uncle -30points

Learn Italian or French…probably Italian, I don’t like escargot -10points

Teach my daughters how to fix cars and teach my sons to cook -10points

Help people who break down on the side of the road -5points

Be a seminary teacher -5points

Overcome my fear of giving blood -75points

Donate blood (voluntarily, haha!) at least 3 times every year -a bajillion points

Eat a pickle without hurling… if I throw up it will be called a puke-le… -10 points plus 5 bonus points for thinking up the word puke-le

Visit all 50 states -5 points

Go Heli-snowboarding -10points

Learn and become a master at one of the martial arts -10points

Go back to Bolivia and find the people I taught but didn’t baptize and succeed this time -30points

Break one of the Guiness World Records -15points

Go to the moon on Virgin Galactic Airlines (IT EXISTS!) -30points

Hide in a Wal-Mart and sleep overnight -15points plus 15 if I don’t get caught

Start a snowball fight with complete strangers -5points

Say once in my life: “You can’t fire me! I quit!” -5 points but subtract 5 points for being dumb enough to get fired

Dig to China… -1492points